Skip to content

The Fall River Diocese is divided into five territorial districts or deaneries. The Bishop appoints a Vicar Forane, also called a Dean, in each deanery to assist him in the promotion and coordination of apostolic and pastoral activity in that area.

Attleboro Deanery

Interim Dean: Very Rev. David A. Costa, V.F.
Transfiguration of the Lord Parish
14 Park Street
North Attleborough, MA 02760
Tel. 508-695-6161

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Dean: Rev. Msgr. Stephen J. Avila, V.F.
St. Joseph, Guardian of the Holy Family Parish
167 East Falmouth Highway
East Falmouth, MA 02536
Tel. 508-548-0108

Fall River Deanery

Dean: Very Rev. Riley J. Williams, V.F.
Holy Name Parish
709 Hanover Street
Fall River, MA 02720
Tel. 508-675-1311

New Bedford Deanery

Interim Dean: Very Rev. Christopher M. Peschel, V.F.
Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish
230 Bonney Street
New Bedford, MA 02744
Tel. 508-993-4704

Taunton Deanery

Dean: Very Rev. Neil F. Wack, C.S.C., V.F.
Immaculate Conception Parish
193 Main Street
Easton, MA 02356
Tel. 508-824-3333