Marian Medal1

FALL RIVER — Bishop Edgar M. da Cunha will award the Marian Medal to 81 laypersons from parishes throughout the Fall River Diocese at 3 p.m. on Sunday, December 13, in the Cathedral of St. Mary of the Assumption, 327 Second Street, Fall River.

First presented in 1968, the annual award recognizes members of diocesan parishes for their dedicated service to the Church.  Recipients are nominated for the award by their pastor.

The medals will be blessed and presented during a ceremony of Solemn Daytime Prayer and Benediction of the Blessed Sacrament and will follow the rite of opening of the “Door of Mercy” at the Cathedral by Bishop da Cunha to inaugurate the Church’s Holy Year of Mercy in the Fall River Diocese.

Made of sterling silver, the Marian Medal is embossed with a Miraculous Medal on one side and the Fall River Diocesan coat-of-arms on the other.

The Marian Medal recipients for 2015 are listed below by deanery or area.

Attleboro Deanery

Armand J. Brunelle, III, St. Mark Parish, Attleboro Falls; Patricia Coyne, St. Mary Parish, Mansfield; Robert Deschene, St. Mary Parish, North Attleboro; Carolyn A. Edgar, Sacred Heart Parish, North Attleboro; Virginia Fortier, Our Lady Queen of Martyrs Parish, Seekonk; John Gregorek, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, Seekonk; Anna M. McReynolds, St. Mary Parish, Norton; Mark Priest, St. Theresa of the Child Jesus Parish, South Attleboro; Teresa Sandoval, St. Vincent de Paul Parish, Attleboro; and Paul W. Scanlan, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Attleboro.

Cape Cod & Islands Deanery

Walter J. Burke, Good Shepherd Parish, Vineyard Haven, Martha’s Vineyard; Lawrence P. Camerlengo, St. Pius X Parish, South Yarmouth; Gilhermina A. Couto, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, Osterville; Mary Crowley, St. Margaret Parish, Buzzards Bay; Frances Curran, Holy Trinity Parish, West Harwich; William Desmarais, St. John the Evangelist Parish, Pocasset; Beth A. Dunn, Our Lady of the Cape Parish, Brewster; Maurice Gonsalves, St. Peter the Apostle Parish, Provincetown; Jane Hopewood, St. Patrick Parish, Falmouth; Linda Hurley, Holy Redeemer Parish, Chatham; John E. McCormack, Corpus Christi Parish, East Sandwich; Andrea Medeiros, St. Anthony Parish, East Falmouth; Jose Nunes, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Hyannis; Donald Ouellette, St. Joan of Arc Parish, Orleans; Laurie Paterson, St. Mary/Our Lady of the Isle Parish, Nantucket; Carole Scollins, St. Elizabeth Seton Parish, North Falmouth; Gail F. Slattery, Christ the King Parish, Mashpee; Joseph Snape, Our Lady of Lourdes Parish, Wellfleet; and Margaret Wroe, Our Lady of Victory Parish, Centerville.

Fall River Deanery

John “Victor” Alves, St. Bernadette Parish, Fall River; Colleen M. Archambault, St. Thomas More Parish, Somerset; Frank O. Bragantin Jr., St. Dominic Parish, Swansea; Mary Jane Branco, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, Fall River; Gert Cadima, Holy Trinity Parish, Fall River; Mary Camara, St. Mary Cathedral Parish, Fall River; Christina Delibero, St. John the Baptist Parish, Westport; Joao Dias, Santo Christo Parish, Fall River; Helen Ferry, St. George Parish, Westport; John Gagliardi, Good Shepherd Parish, Fall River; Thomas R. Gagnon, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, Swansea.

Also, Irene Gouveia, Espirito Santo Parish, Fall River; Craig A. Jesiolowski, St. Anne Parish, Fall River; Jean L. Paquette, St. Louis de France Parish, Swansea; Marjorie Pavao, Our Lady of Grace Parish, Westport; James Rogers, St. Joseph Parish, Fall River; Marion C. Saurette, St. Patrick Parish, Somerset; Cesar Sousa, St. Michael Parish, Fall River; Judite Tavares, St. John of God Parish, Somerset; Jacqueline C. Thran, Holy Name Parish, Fall River; Jane Wilcox, St. Bernard Parish, Assonet; and Jean Willis, St. Stanislaus Parish, Fall River.

New Bedford Deanery

Edwin Aldarondo, St. Anthony of Padua Parish, New Bedford; Maria L. Bernardo, St. Joseph-St. Therese Parish, New Bedford; Gary Butterworth, St. Patrick Parish, Wareham; Dorothy Cabral, St. Mary Parish, Fairhaven; Phyllis Corchado, Our Lady of the Assumption Parish, New Bedford; John F. DeBarros, Holy Name of the Sacred Heart of Jesus Parish, New Bedford; David Fredette, St. Francis Xavier Parish, Acushnet; Jose Guerreiro, Our Lady of Guadalupe Parish, New Bedford.

Also, William Julevich, St. Mary Parish, South Dartmouth; Theresa Leblanc, St. Julie Billiart Parish, North Dartmouth; Margaret Lenihan, St. Mary Parish, New Bedford; Catherine Martens, St. Anthony Parish, Mattapoisett; Joseph Napoli, St. Rita Parish, Marion; Maria L. Pires, Our Lady of Mount Carmel Parish, New Bedford; Eugenio Pontes, Immaculate Conception Parish, New Bedford; Sharon Rapoza, Our Lady of Fatima Parish, New Bedford; Christine Regula, Our Lady of Perpetual Help Parish, New Bedford; Louis Robillard, St. Lawrence Parish, New Bedford; Mary Lou Tavares, St. John Neumann Parish, East Freetown; and Edith A. Ventura, St. Francis of Assisi Parish, New Bedford.

Taunton Deanery

Brian Andrade, St. Ann Parish, Raynham; Marianne Brennan, St. Andrew the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Jean M. Connon, St. Jude the Apostle Parish, Taunton; Michael Cordeiro, St. Nicholas of Myra Parish, North Dighton; Maria R. Medina, St. Anthony Parish, Taunton; Anthony Nunes, Annunciation of the Lord Parish, Taunton; Jean Owings, Holy Family Parish, East Taunton; Anne Tarallo, Holy Cross Parish, South Easton; Nelson Torres, St. Mary Parish, Taunton; and Christopher Vaughan, Immaculate Conception Parish, North Easton.

Diocese of Fall River
Diocese of Fall River
Office of Communications